The Joseph Patrick Allen Endowed Scholarship

TLLA has funded many scholars over its 60 year history.  Members have donated $45,000 to the Marshall School’s Masters of Business for Veterans,  $35,000 to the Keck School of Medicine  and $15,000 to the Dean Joan M. Schaefer scholarships.   In 2001 TLLA established the Joseph Patrick Allen Endowed Scholarship Fund to commemorate the life and memory of Joe Allen who served as Vice Provost of Enrollment Services at USC from 1993 to 2001.  The scholarships are awarded to outstanding students in the Dana and David Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences for their junior year and can be renewed by applying again for their senior year.  

J.P. Allen Scholars embody true Trojan ideals through personal and academic achievements.  Applications are available in October at or by calling (213) 740-5930, and are due around February 1st.  Final candidates are  interviewed by the TLLA Scholarship Committee.

 J.P. Allen Scholar eligibility criteria

  • Must be a full-time undergraduate student in Dornsife College, and must have entered USC with a GPA of 3.67 or higher.
  • Cannot be related to a current member of the TLLA Board or Scholarship Committee.
  • Must demonstrate merit and financial need.
  • Possess academic strengths and leadership skills; and be involved on campus and in the community.
  • Complete a minimum of 12 units per semester, plan to graduate in four years, and maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 at USC.

2018-2019 Recipient

First Name Last Name Year             Major Minor City
Connor Babbush Senior* Biochem Business Finance San Diego
Merai Estafanous Senior* Psych/Soc   Downey
Samantha Kosai Junior Sociology   Irvine
Skylar Kutasi Senior* Health/HS E Asian Lang&Cul Calabasas
Chelsea Lee Senior* A&C Math Public Health Temple City
Omair Qureshi Senior* Bio Sci   Northridge
Alexandra Stella Junior Envirnomental Studies   Van Nuys
Andy Tzeng Junior Biological Sciences   Arcadia


2017-2018 Scholar Recipients with TLLA President Charlene Ebright and Scholarship Chair Kathy Windsor